Front Page Main

Published on November 10th, 2014 | by Millennium Magazine Staff



Seven new members will be inducted into the Richland One Hall of Fame in January, district officials announced at a news conference held recently.

The Richland One Hall of Fame was created to recognize graduates of Richland One schools and other persons throughout the district’s history who have made significant contributions to Richland One, their communities, their professions and society as a whole. Induction into the Hall of Fame is the highest honor bestowed upon individuals by the Richland One Board of School Commissioners. Fifty-seven persons have been inducted since the Hall of Fame was established in 2004.

The Richland One Hall of Fame Induction Gala will be held the evening of Saturday, January 31, 2015 at the Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center. Additional information about the gala will be announced later.

The seven members of the 2014 Richland One Hall of Fame induction class are:

  • Eleanor Beardsley, a 1982 graduate of W.J. Keenan High School and a Peabody Award-winning journalist who is a correspondent for National Public Radio (NPR) in Paris, France
  • Joe E. Brown, a retired educator and businessman who served in the S.C. House of Representatives (District 73) for 21 years and whose leadership roles included serving as chairman of the S.C. Legislative Black Caucus
  • Charles E. “Charlie” Farrell, a 1962 graduate of A.C. Flora High School, a former fighter pilot and owner of The Farrell Group, a Columbia-based firm that specializes in training programs to develop clients’ skills in leadership, teamwork and personal productivity
  • Ethel J. Finley (posthumously), a graduate of Booker T. Washington High School and a longtime Richland One teacher who played a pivotal role in desegregating the Columbia YWCAs
  • Wilbur E. Johnson, a 1972 graduate of C.A. Johnson High School who is managing partner of Young Clement Rivers law firm in Charleston and a member of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond’s Board of Directors
  • Harry M. Lightsey, Jr. (posthumously), a 1948 graduate of Dreher High School, an attorney and a longtime USC law professor and dean whose career also included serving as president of the College of Charleston
  • Isaac E. “Ike” McGraw, Sr., (posthumously), a graduate of Booker T. Washington High School who was an educator, an agricultural agent and one of the first African-Americans elected to the Richland One Board of School Commissioners

For more information about the Richland One Hall of Fame, go to or contact Karen York in the Richland One Office of Communications at 231-7504.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × 5 =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!