Education no image

Published on April 11th, 2014 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Richland One Announces State Odyssey of the Mind Winners

The “Burnside Bees,” are Taylor Bradshaw, Jaquan McClinton, DeBryan Davis, Dazah Crouder, Camryn Alston and Kirsten Dash.

Two Richland One elementary schools won three first-place awards at the 2013-2014 State Odyssey of the Mind competition on March 15. First- and second-place winners qualify for the Odyssey of the Mind World Finals at IowaStateUniversity May 28-31.

Odyssey of the Mind is an international education program which requires students to be creative, quick thinkers in solving problems ranging from building mechanical devices to presenting their own interpretation of literary classics. Thousands of teams from around the world from kindergarten through college compete for local, state and world honors.

The district congratulates the following state winners:

Burnside Elementary School: First-place winners

Members of the winning team, the “Burnside Bees,” are Taylor Bradshaw, Jaquan McClinton, DeBryan Davis, Dazah Crouder, Camryn Alston and Kirsten Dash. The team is coached by April Barnes, Angelia Alston and John Tolbert. The “Burnside Bees” prop and costume trainer is Gloria Jaramillo. The school coordinator is Sonya Law-Tolbert.

Lewis Greenview Elementary School: Two teams won first-place awards

LewisGreenviewElementary School had two first-place winning teams. Members of team “Jaguars Rule” include Faith Stinson, Armon Williams, Jacob Gary, Joshua Gary, Robert Cureton, Amaria Smith and Ja’lyn Jamison. The team is coached by volunteer Priscilla Buckson and Sherman Williams, a fourth-grade teacher at Lewis Greenview.

Top honors also went to members of the Lewis Greenview “Fruitopians” team –

Calia Priester, Victoria Webb, Tyle McBride, Orion Cook, Ja’niya Clark, Zaniyah Riley and Jailyn Davis. The team is coached by Althea Houser and Sherman Williams with assistance from parent Nicole Webb. Joyce Law is the coordinator for both teams.

Richland One is very proud of all of its winners and congratulates them on their excellent performances. 


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × five =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!