Published on April 5th, 2015 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Lexington One students stand out at 2015 HOSA State Leadership Conference

LEXINGTON, S.C. — Many Lexington County School District One Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) members successfully competed in the 2015 South Carolina HOSA State Leadership Conference held in Charleston, South Carolina.

Lexington One students who won first place awards include: Abbey Bedenbaugh, Haven Hendrix, Colby Sharpe and Carter Tetanich, HOSA Bowl team, Haley Burchette, Aubrey Dyer, Katelyn Hatchell, Dwight Hawfield, Allison Raitt and Emily Smith, parliamentary procedures team, Santania Martin and Ayanna Wigfall, health education team, Cheyenne McCune, Leanne McCune, Hannah O’Kelley and Amanda Whittle, biomedical debate team and Jordan Wallace, life support skills from Gilbert High; Anna Bishop, job seeking skills, Ethan Brittingham, medical law and ethics, Simon Lin, dental science, Jocelyn Nelson, nursing assistant, Timothy Riley and Alex Sawyer, CPR/first aid, and Brenae Wilson, medical math, from Lexington Technology Center; Kaitlyn Pressly and Libby Smith, community emergency response team, from Pelion High; Lydia Carter, Andrew Griffin, Carley Mahanna and Macey Williamson, creative problem-solving team and Lora Lashkova, pharmacology, from River Bluff High; and Makayla Blakely, medical assisting and Emi Cook, nutrition, from White Knoll High’s Center for Public Health and Advanced Medical Studies.

Lexington One students who took second place include: Christina Gantt, medical law and ethics, and Sydney Hughes, healthy lifestyles, from LTC; Alexis Bell, sports medicine, Lauren McCaskill, pharmacology and Kendra Paradeses, nurse assisting, from White Knoll High; and Peyton Benson, Lexi Cooper and Katie Smith, medical innovations, Heenali Fozdar, Peyton Smith and Alaina Spigner, health education, Amanda Lyon and Slone Taylor, forensic medicine and Hannah Williams, physical therapy, from the WKHS Public Health Center.

Lexington One students who finished third include: Brooke Decker and Elizabeth Perez, emergency medical technician and Brantley Leaphart, researched persuasive speaking, from GHS; Meredith Green, Julianna Heneage, Casey Kirchner and Ashley Lawson, creative problem-solving and Kristen Miller, veterinary science, from LTC; Kayla Ingle, Meagan Jeffcoat, McKenzie Leaphart, Nicole Waltman and Caitlin Williams, public service announcement and Elizabeth Register, clinical specialty, from PHS; and Preeti Chandekar, epidemiology, from the WKHS Public Health Center.

Other Lexington One students who finished in the top 10 in their categories include: Meagan Bostic and Austin Pees from GHS; Elizabeth Bear, Kathy Becerra, Rachel Brooks, Dominic Croswell, Dominique Croswell, Micaiah Daniels, Hannah Eck, Lauren Kinard, Steven Lin, Ally Shealy, Madison Tuttle and Carleigh Zee from LTC; Michalla Hobson, Wiley Jackson and Jessica Padgett from PHS; Alli Glenn, Megan Locklier, Abby Mellott, Kayla Prevatte and Morgan Steele from RBHS; Bailey Colquitt, Andrew Ditch, Madyson Glenn, Serena Lee, Lilly Lightsey, Mary Lightsey, Jillian Polk, Darian Steele and Jason Wong from WKHS; and James Buchman, Sarah Cantwell, Lindsey Collins, Katie Dattilio, Michael Dooley, Alexis Elledge, Shelby Gifford, Delaney Grant, Thaddeus Holiday, Karla Luevano, Pranav Patel, Alexandra Pennington and Karly Shirey from the WKHS Public Health Center.

GHS Student Abbey Bedenbaugh, LTC Student Anna Bishop and RBHS Student Andrew Griffin received Outstanding HOSA Member awards.

LTC Students Kristen Miller received a High School Association of Career and Technical Education Scholarship and Brenae Wilson won a Cherokee Trail Veterinary Scholarship, RBHS Student Shivani Kapur was awarded a HOSA scholarship, WKHS Student Alexis Bell received a Health Science Educator Scholarship, and WKHS Public Health Center Student Karly Shirey won a Health Science Educator Scholarship.

Conference organizers chose PHS Student McKenzie Leaphart to perform the “Star Spangled Banner” for the opening ceremony of the conference, and WKHS Student Jason Wong was elected as a 2015–2016 South Carolina HOSA State Officer. He will serve as the postsecondary vice president.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen + 12 =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!