Published on September 29th, 2015 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Lexington One schools choose Teachers of the Year

LEXINGTON, S.C. — Lexington County School District One’s 30 schools each chose a Teacher of the Year to represent them in the 2015–2016 Teacher of the Year process, serve on the district’s Teacher Forum for two years and represent their schools on the Superintendent’s Teacher Advisory Council for one year.

Lexington One’s newest Teachers of the Year are Carolina Springs Elementary Spanish Teacher Michael Frank; Carolina Springs Middle Eighth-Grade English Language Arts Teacher Jason McCullough; Deerfield Elementary School Counselor Meghan Snipes; Forts Pond Elementary Fifth-Grade Teacher Jennifer Hale; Gilbert Elementary Art Teacher Angela Zokan; Gilbert High Geometry Teacher Erica Armstrong; Gilbert Middle Sixth-Grade Mathematics Teacher Jennifer Byrd; Gilbert Primary 5K Immersion Teacher Donnelle Glatz; Lake Murray Elementary Special Education Teacher Jessica Potts; Lexington Elementary Second-Grade Teacher Michelle Webster; Lexington High Special Education Teacher Christen Weidner; Lexington Middle Seventh-Grade Science Teacher Lyn Hamilton; Lexington Technology Center Culinary Arts Teacher Dan Zmroczek; Meadow Glen Elementary Physical Education Teacher Bert Williams; Meadow Glen Middle Sixth-Grade English Language Arts Teacher Heather Yordy; Midway Elementary Kindergarten Teacher Laura Morrison; New Providence Elementary Fourth-Grade Mathematics and Science Teacher Tanya Mabry; Oak Grove Elementary School Counselor Kay Ross; Pelion Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Brooks Day; Pelion High Special Education Teacher Traci Holcomb; Pelion Middle Sixth-Grade English and Social Studies Teacher Kelli Shealy; Pleasant Hill Elementary Fourth-Grade Mathematics and Science Immersion Teacher Tabitha Carro; Pleasant Hill Middle Seventh-Grade Social Studies Teacher Lisa Bradley; Red Bank Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Lauren Vann; River Bluff High AP Human Geography and Law and Global Policy Development Teacher Meg Huggins; Rocky Creek Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Katie Crapps; Saxe Gotha Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Sandy Cherry; White Knoll Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Bethany Olden; White Knoll High AP Calculus Teacher Susan Scott and White Knoll Middle Eighth-Grade Social Studies Teacher Elizabeth Goodwin.

They possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to and inspire students with a love of learning; keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in the classroom; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops; support fellow teachers in their professional development; have the respect and admiration of students, parents, co-workers and others; play active roles in their communities and schools; distinguish themselves as leaders; and be poised and articulate.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × five =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!