December 16, 2020
Flock and Rally Celebrates 10 Years
December 17, 2020
Show all

Jamie Devine, SCSBA President-Elect

COLUMBIA – Jamie Devine, a member of the Richland One Board of School Commissioners, was installed as president-elect of the South Carolina School Boards Association (SCSBA) during the association’s annual Delegate Assembly held Friday, December 4 in Columbia.

The association’s annual business meeting, which was held as part of the association’s Legislative Advocacy Conference, included voting delegates from most of the state’s 79 school boards. In addition to the election of association officers, delegates adopted resolutions to guide the association during the 2021 legislative session.

Devine has been a member of the Richland One Board of School Commissioners since 2008 and the SCSBA board since 2012.

He is currently president/CEO of Community Assistance Provider, a regional not-for-profit acquiring, building and maintaining affordable housing.

Devine serves on numerous boards, commissions and civic organizations in addition to the Richland One and SCSBA boards, including the Indian Waters Council (Boy Scouts of America) and the North Columbia Business Association (NCBA). Devine is a member of the 100 Black Men of Greater Columbia, Inc. He is also a 2003 graduate of Leadership Columbia, sponsored by the Columbia Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the 2007 “20 under 40” class presented by The State newspaper.

His contributions to his community are further expressed through his work with his church, Brookland Baptist, and his fraternity, Omega Psi Phi.

Devine is married to the former Tameika Isaac, Columbia City Councilwoman, and they reside in downtown Columbia. They have two daughters and one son.

Officers elected to lead the association’s board of directors for a one-year term are as follows:

  • President, Cheryl Burgess, Lexington School District Three
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Gail Hughes, Dorchester School District Two

Others elected to serve a four-year term on the 21-member board of directors as regional directors are:

  • Region 8 Director, Amelia McKie, Richland School District Two
  • Region 12 Director, Billy Blackwell, Cherokee County School District
  • Region 16 Director, Dr. Tom Dobbins, Anderson School District Four

The South Carolina School Boards Association is a non-profit organization serving as a source of information and as a statewide voice for boards governing the state’s 79 school districts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × three =

Millennium Magazine Columbia SC News