Education no image

Published on May 17th, 2020 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Four School District Five students named National Merit Scholarship winners

IRMO – Four students from Lexington-Richland School District Five have earned National Merit Scholarships.

Lauren Chen (Dutch Fork High), Jack Oberman (Dutch Fork High), Janette Park (Dutch Fork High), and Arjun Verma (Dutch Fork High) were named winners of this year’s National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. The awards to these four students were part of the second round of National Merit Scholarship award announcements. Winners of the college-sponsored Merit Scholarship award will be announced next month and in July.

“We congratulate these students for being named National Merit Scholarship winners,” said School District Five Superintendent Dr. Christina Melton. “This is another incredible accomplishment that School District Five can add to an already impressive list for the school year. These students epitomize the best of the best, and evidence that our students perform very well academically when families and school staff partner!”

Scholars are selected from students who advanced to the Finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition. Most National Merit awards provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.

This year’s National Merit Scholarship Program began in October 2018 when over 1.5 million juniors in more than 21,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were named Semifinalists.

From the Semifinalist group, nearly 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. School District Five had a total of 12 finalists this school year. Additional National Merit Scholarship awards will be announced nationwide June 3 and July 13.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − 9 =

Back to Top ↑

Millennium Magazine Columbia SC News