Published on October 12th, 2017 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Educators, Docents, Staff, and Volunteers Celebrated at the Columbia Museum of Art’s Annual Meeting

Pictured Board president R. Scott McClelland presents the President’s Award to Cathy Love for her service to the CMA.

New Board Members Elected for 2017 – 2018 Year

Columbia, S.C. – Recently, the Columbia Museum of Art highlighted its commitment to education, culture, and community by presenting awards for outstanding educational service and museum volunteerism.

The Mac Arthur Goodwin Award for excellence in arts education was given to Jennifer Gorlewski, who teaches at Dreher High School in Columbia. Gorlewski has made an outstanding contribution to the inspiration of her students through her dedicated service.

The Docent Corps is a valuable and essential group of individuals who volunteer their time to fulfill the CMA’s educational mission and make the museum an engaging and accessible cultural hub of the Midlands. Through continuing education and volunteer service to the CMA, docents provide the vital educational link with children and adults that enrich the museum experience and instill and support a lifelong appreciation of art. The Docent of the Year Award was given to Linda Reardon for her dedication and service to the museum since 2013. This award is voted on by members of the corps, who point to Reardon’s leadership, excellent tours, willingness to assist others, development of an informative and well-organized newsletter, and diligence in providing outstanding tour opportunities for all docents.

The CMA is a regional leader in arts education, inspiring future generations of children and adults alike. The museum provides rich and meaningful opportunities in our community to learn through art about history, culture, and the world, and one third of the programs are offered for free.

New board members were announced at the CMA’s 66th meeting. Board president R. Scott McClelland officiated the meeting, which included the announcement of board officers for the 2017 – 2018 term.

McClelland serves as president, Rachel Hodges as vice president, Isvara Wilson as treasurer, Leslie Archie as secretary, and Della Watkins as executive director.

The following trustees were elected to serve for the class of 2020: John Bachmann, Steven Ford, Caroline Freeman, Jane Kulbersh, Delores Logan, Cathy Love, Tim McKissock, Michel Moore, Claude Walker, and Debbie Zvejnieks. Elected trustees for the class of 2021 are Julie Brenan, Ben Rex, and Robert Rhodes.

Other awards were presented for outstanding service to the CMA.

The L. Arlen Cotter Award, known as the President’s Award, is given to an individual volunteer for their energy, sense of purpose, and genuine concern for the museum and its staff. This year the award was presented to Cathy Love, who contributed many hours and much of her professional skill in developing staff enrichment programs.

The Director’s Award for employee of the year was presented to Brian Dolphin for his enthusiastic dedication to the CMA as well as his proven leadership talents in guiding the museum’s development activities and staff over the past year. Anniversary service recognition went to Joelle Ryan-Cook, who celebrated 20 years working at the CMA; Doctor Isaiah Jr., 15 years; Joyce Miller, 10 years; and Will South, five years.

The Chairman’s Award was awarded posthumously to Mac Arthur Goodwin, who passed away last October. An Orangeburg native and lifelong art educator and advocate, Goodwin was a driving force for arts education both statewide and nationally. His myriad accomplishments include the establishment of the Arts in Basic Curriculum (ABC) Project, chairing the South Carolina Art Education Association, consulting for the S.C. Department of Education, serving as president of the National Art Education Association, and receiving the Order of the Palmetto, the state’s highest honor. Goodwin was proud to acknowledge the hard work of fellow art educators with the award named after him each year; the CMA continues this tradition in his memory.

The Vendor Service Award was presented to Cyberwoven for their support of the museum since 2014 in developing a new CMA website with an emphasis on storytelling.

The meeting concluded with the recognition of retiring board members Kay Bachmann, Thomas E. Collins, Kevin Glass, Stuart A. Hamilton, and Mary Mazzola Spivey.

For more information, visit

About the CMA

The Columbia Museum of Art is a charitable nonprofit organization dedicated to lifelong learning and community enrichment for all. Located in the heart of downtown Columbia, S.C., the CMA ranks among the leading art institutions in the country and is distinguished by its innovative exhibitions and creative educational programs. At the heart of the CMA and its programs is its collection, which encompasses 7,000 works and spans 5,000 years of art history. Established in 1950, the CMA now welcomes more than 150,000 visitors annually and is a catalyst for community creativity and education, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds. It is the recipient of a National Medal from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, a National Art Education Association award for its contributions to arts education, a National Park Foundation Award, and two Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Governor’s Awards for the Arts for outstanding contributions to the arts in South Carolina. To learn more, visit


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!