Delta Sorority Hosts Third Annual Great Debate with Scholarship Awards – Millennium Magazine Columbia SC News

Front Page Main

Published on June 6th, 2019 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Delta Sorority Hosts Third Annual Great Debate with Scholarship Awards

In observance of its annual May Week activities, the Columbia, (SC) Alumnae chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and President Brenda B. Branic are pleased to announce its annual presentation of the Great Debate recently at Spring Valley High School Auditorium. 

Each year the month of May is an exciting time for the members of the Columbia (SC) Alumnae Chapter to share with the public the grand finale of an extraordinary year filled with worthy community-based service programs.  One component of our annual May Week activities includes bingo games for residents of Columbia senior citizen high-rises, community service projects.  The highlight of our annual May Week is the 3rd Annual Great Debate program which supports Youth and Education Initiatives of the chapter.  Nineteen area students participated in the debate: 9 middle school and 10 high school students. Some participants are members of the Chapter’s three Signature Programs: Dr. Jeanne Noble Delta GEMS; Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy; and EMBODI.  The debate was moderated by Vince Ford and the 3 judges were The Honorable DeAndrea Benjamin, The Honorable Teresa Jones-Holmes and Mr. Terrell Foster Dr.  The debate topics were:

Should the federal minimum wage be increased?

Should the United States continue to use the Electoral College in future presidential elections?

Are more gun control laws needed to protect students at school?

Middle School Winners: 1st Place –Tessa Sheppard; 2nd Place Dylan Horne; 3rd Place Armon Williams.

High School Winners: 1st Place – Shalah Mack; 2nd Place Nailah Outing, 3rd Place Tymia Boles.

1st place middle school team: Tessa Sheppard, Jasmine Jackson, Armon Williams, Elijha Dillard

2nd place middle school team: Skyler Dinkins, Auleon Castor, K’Liyah Taylor, Arica Spencer, Dylan Horne.

1st place high school team: Aumani Green, Nailah Outing, Ayana Canty

2nd place high school team: Ashley Spencer, Hayden Pendergrass, Tymia Boles

3rd place high school team: Maya Taylor and Amber Spencer

The Columbia (SC) Alumnae Chapter presented $28,000 in scholarships to 37 recipients in the following categories: high school graduating seniors attending a 4 year college or university, high school seniors attending a historically black college or university, Delta GEM, Delta GEM book stipend, past recipient, non-graduating students in elementary, middle, and high school, and member of each of the Columbia, SC collegiate chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority with the highest GPA. These scholarships were awarded for the 2018-2019 sorority year to students residing in Richland, Fairfield, Lexington, and Newberry Counties.

Also honored was Mrs. Geraldine Parker, Delta Dear of the year, and Mr. Nathan Perryman Sr, received the annual Community Service Award. 

The Columbia (SC) Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was chartered on November 16, 1940 and has been dedicated to providing public service to the Midlands Community for more than 78 years. Chapter programs include partnership with Harvest Hope Food Bank and the weekend backpack food and Senior Food Share Programs; working with the Betty Shabazz Academy(Middle School Females) and Delta Gems(High School Females), EMBODI, Empowering Males to Build Opportunities for Developing Independence (middle and high school Males), Biennial Debutante Cotillion – The Delta Assembly, annual scholarships to area high school students, as well as several social and political action programs designed to advance the well being of the Greater Midlands community.

Tags: ,

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × three =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!