Features

Published on July 13th, 2015 | by Millennium Magazine Staff

0

Commerce Introduces Regional Workforce Advisors

Pictured Secretary of Commerce Bobby Hitt

Advisors to connect business and education for state workforce development

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Department of Commerce today introduced the South Carolina Regional Workforce Advisors, a group of education and business leaders across the state who will make up the workforce division of the Department of Commerce.

Each representing one of 12 regions, the Regional Workforce Advisors will serve as Commerce’s resource for workforce development throughout the state. By building bridges between educators, students and industries, the Regional Workforce Advisors will help identify workforce needs that will be critical to building a labor pipeline that industries need. At the same time, the Advisors will help students and adults who want a job identify areas of training to pursue for available jobs in their communities.

“As part of our economic development efforts, Commerce is committed to supporting a workforce of the future,” said Secretary of Commerce Bobby Hitt. “While business recruitment and support remain our focus, we know that a strong workforce is critical both in attracting business investment as well as in facilitating an environment for existing business to grow.

“World-class companies continue to attract to our borders and that is not by mistake. South Carolina already has one of the finest workforces in the nation – our people are our greatest asset. We are pleased to announce this group as a Commerce resource that will be critical to continuing this tradition that has led to our state’s unprecedented economic development progress.”

Regional Workforce Advisors
Santee-Lynches: Brenda Goldman bgoldman@sccommerce.com
Upstate: Cherie Pressley cpressley@sccommerce.com
Pee Dee: Cheryl Lewis clewis@sccommerce.com
Upper Savannah: Dr. Cynthia Pitts cpitts@sccommerce.com
Waccamaw: Eileen Patonay epatonay@sccommerce.com
Greenville: Jay Blankenship jblankenship@sccommerce.com
Lower Savannah: Joni McDaniel jmcdaniel@sccommerce.com
Midlands: Kaye Shaw kshaw@sccommerce.com
Lowcountry: Kim Statler kstatler@sccommerce.com
Catawba: Lisa Robbins lrobbins@sccommerce.com
Trident: Patricia Ferguson pferguson@sccommerce.com
Pendleton: Rick Murphy rmurphy@sccommerce.com

To learn more about the Regional Workforce Advisors, and to view a map of the regions, please visit www.sccommerce.com/regionalworkforceadvisors

About S.C. Department of Commerce

As South Carolina’s leading economic development agency, the Department of Commerce works to recruit new businesses and help existing business grow. Commerce has recruited world-class companies to South Carolina such as Boeing, Bridgestone, Continental, Monster.com, ZF Group, BMW and Google Inc. and also supports startups, small and existing business, innovation and rural development initiatives. Commerce partners with the S.C Technical College System via readySC to support workforce training and recruiting, and with the S.C. Department of Employment and Workforce, which provides worker training and employment opportunities within the state. Consistently, South Carolina has ranked as one of the top states in the nation for attracting jobs through foreign investment, according to IBM-Plant Location International reports. The state won the Gold Shovel Award and the Project of Year Award from Area Development magazine in 2012. For more information, visit www.SCcommerce.com.

Tags:


About the Author



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 + seventeen =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!