Community no image

Published on May 19th, 2014 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Columbia Museum of Art Announces New Board Members

Columbia, S.C. – Recently, the Columbia Museum of Art held its 63rd meeting and the 98th Annual Membership Meeting. Board president Luther J. Battiste, III officiated the meeting, which included the announcement of the “Be the Curator” fundraiser and board officers for 2014-2015.

Claude M. Walker serves as the new board president with R. Scott McClelland, vice president; Dr. Suzanne R. Thorpe, secretary; Joel A. Smith, III; treasurer, and Karen Brosius as executive director.

At the meeting, Emily Brady was announced the winner of the “Be the Curator” fundraising initiative for raising $6,419 toward the Museum’s annual fund. Her selected artwork, Tete, a lithograph by Henri Matisse, will be on view beginning in June. Second place went to Anne Postic and third place was given to Brad and Stacey Collins.

The following trustees were elected to serve for the Class of 2017: Kay Butler Bachman, Shani Gilchrist, Stuart A. Hamilton, Sidney Heyward Rex, Cathy Love, Mary Mazzola Spivey, Timothy M. McKissock, Michael G. Moore, Claude M. Walker, and Stephen F. Serbin.

The President’s Award was presented to Julie C. Brenan for her leadership, energy, and commitment to the Museum as a Board of Trustees member and volunteer. Brenan has been instrumental in her efforts as head of the CMA’s Development Committee, a member of the Education Committee, and a very active volunteer and organizer for the annual Gala Committee for many years.

The Director’s Award for employee of the year was presented to Jessica Derr, graphic designer, for her loyalty and tireless dedication to the CMA and for her talented work in designing the range of materials used to promote all the exhibitions, events, and programs at the Museum.

The Chairman’s Award was presented to Brandolyn Thomas Pinkston for her contributions to the CMA through helping to create and serve as the first president of the Friends of African American Art & Culture membership affiliate group.

The Vendor Service Award was given to Palmetto Computer Consulting for their dedication in providing quality IT computer services and outstanding customer service to the CMA.

The Docent of the Year Award was given to Nan Briggs for her dedication and service to the Museum since 2004. Briggs is a valuable educator as a studio docent, and her work with CMA summer camps and educational outreach community programs. This award is voted on by the Docent Corps.

Mac Arthur Goodwin, a former CMA board member, art educator and consultant for the SC Department of Education, presented his namesake award for excellence in education in the arts to Catherine Campbell.
Campbell has been an art educator in South Carolina since 1994.

The meeting concluded with the recognition of retiring board members Helen Hill, Sam McCuen, Duncan McIntosh, Shirely Mills, Allen Montgomery, and Kathryn Stuart.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × 2 =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!