Front Page Main

Published on November 30th, 2015 | by Millennium Magazine Staff


Columbia Designated as a Bronze Level Walk Friendly Community

Pictured from left: John S. Fellows (Planning & Development Services), County Councilman Paul Livingston, Andy Leaphart, (SCDOT), Mayor Steve Benjamin, City Councilwoman Tameika Isaac Devine, Commissioner John N. Hardee (SCDOT), Gene Bell (BPAC), Bob Schneider (The COMET) and Lucinda Statler (Planning & Development Services).

The City of Columbia has been designated as a Walk Friendly Community (WFC) by the Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center. Walk Friendly Communities is a national recognition program aimed to encourage communities to establish or recommit to higher level of walking. A press conference was held at City Hall recently where the City was officially designated as a bronze level Walk Friendly Community.

The WFC program recognizes communities that are working to improve a wide range of conditions related to walking, including safety, mobility, access and comfort. The WFC designation of honorable mention, bronze, silver, gold and platinum, is given to applicant communities that have demonstrated a commitment to improving and sustaining walkability and pedestrian safety through comprehensive programs, plans and policies. The program is funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and FedEx.

An application for designation was submitted by the City’s Planning and Development Services Department in the spring and a receipt of notification of the City’s designation was received in early November. The City of Columbia is the first Bronze level community within the state and the only community within the state to receive designation at any level. Other communities within the southeast to receive awards in the past are Atlanta, Charlotte, Louisville, Davidson, NC, Cary, NC. A full list of comparison for each level can be found at


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 − four =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!