Published on October 20th, 2015 | by Millennium Magazine Staff



Pictured: Carl Blackstone, Columbia Chamber President and CEO

Chamber to House U.S. Small Business Administration Representatives to Help Business Owners

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Columbia Chamber will host representatives from the United States Small Business Administration (SBA) until further notice in an effort to help business owners apply for Physical and Economic Injury Disaster Loans. Through SBA, these loans are available to businesses affected by the severe storms and flooding in South Carolina.

The disaster declaration covers the following counties: Bamberg, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Greenwood, Horry, Kershaw, Lee, Lexington, Orangeburg, Newberry, Richland, Sumter, and Williamsburg. In addition, small businesses and non-profits in Abbeville, Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell, Beaufort, Chesterfield, Dillon, Edgefield, Fairfield, Hampton, Lancaster, Laurens, Marion, Marlboro, McCormick, Saluda and Union counties are eligible to apply for SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans only.

The center is open at the Columbia Chamber located at 930 Richland Street, Columbia, SC 29201 from 9 AM to 5 PM on weekdays until further notice.

“The amount of damage in our region has been overwhelming, but the outpouring of support has been heartwarming,” says Carl Blackstone, Columbia Chamber President and CEO, “Now is the time when we help businesses reopen their doors. I encourage those who have been affected, both physically and economically, to spend a moment to talk to a representative from SBA.”

The last day to apply for physical property damage is December 4, 2015 and the final day to apply for economic damage is July 5, 2016.

Additional information on the disaster loan program may be obtained by calling SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or by sending an email to mailto:disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Loan applications can be downloaded from www.sba.gov. Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

About the Columbia Chamber

The Columbia Chamber is a private, non-profit, partner-driven organization comprised of 1,500 business enterprises, civic organizations, educational institutions and individuals in Calhoun, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lexington, Newberry and Richland counties. The Columbia Chamber serves as the voice of its partners and the business community at large on matters of economic, educational, social, cultural and political concern, as well as supports and promotes the success of its partners through networking, professional development, advocacy and leadership. The organization has represented the interests of the local business community since 1902.

To become a partner or to learn more about the Columbia Chamber, as well as its events, programs and initiatives, visit www.ColumbiaChamber.com.


About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − twelve =

Back to Top ↑

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!